Think Thank Thunk

Lara Mikocki
2 min readJan 1, 2022

--

A brief meditation on the year that will be 2022

Warning! This is written after being heavily influenced by the books of David Sedaris: a benevolent gay Jewish humorist from the ‘burbs of New York. I’m none of these things. Pre-apologies.

My good friend Leo took my portrait the other day. He tried to get me to stop thinking. Relax. Don’t think. Loosen up. But I continued with, mind you, quite impressive Olympic somersaults in my head. I squirmed and fussed. I wriggled. And then stiff. Unworkable.

Basically, I looked completely unnatural. Completely in my head. Think think think. Think thank thunk.

Thinking is my superpower. It’s also my Achilles heel. It’s a prison and it’s freedom. I love it and I hate it. It’s like well, you know how you and/or your partner can wake up from one of you causing a 5.6 magnitude fart in the middle of the night? No? Well doesn’t matter. That’s me with my thoughts.

But I’ve also never been more at peace with my (over) thinking. It’s got me into a lot of trouble, but that trouble led me to greener pastures.

The last two years did make one think though, right? And to then think less. Did you notice you’ve become more comfortable with the unexpected, with disappointments, with change? 2022 will be this for many people. More comfort with uncertainty. More ok with not knowing. And do you know what that means? Those good surprises are that much more enjoyable, no matter how small they are. It’s like a mass recalibration of the human spirit towards appreciation. What an exciting year ahead for us all.

Well, these were some of My Thoughts ™️, proudly brought to you by My Thinking®️. Drop by again some time.

Happy New Year!

--

--